I am A Women of Color I am Who I am!

I am A Woman of Color I am who I am! (I wrote this blog for the.body.com)

I am a Woman of Color, someone’s daughter, someone’s sister, someone’s mother, and someone’s friend. I am a human being that was handed a card in life that made me stronger than I thought I was. Not giving up on dreams or who I can become because of this card. Uplifting those in the fight against HIV. Holding their hands and encouraging their spirits to push past the stigma. I am a Women of Color strong, beautiful and brave never letting HIV knock me down in a society where people think I’m supposed to hide. Giving my voice meaning to get through the ignorance of others. I am a Woman of Color and being diagnosed with HIV doesn’t change who I am it only made me better at who I am. Fighting to change the face of HIV by putting a face to HIV. Not letting others tell me what I should be, keep getting up, keep moving, keep smiling and keep walking with my head held high. In hopes, that people are listening to my words. When I hear, who are you helping? You’re not moving forward in this fight to help any change, it’s a waste of time. I say it’s not about me, it’s not about me moving forward, it’s about that one person who heard my words and listened to me that makes all the difference. I am a woman of color; I am a Black woman and I am who I am!

Leave a Reply

